Great lessons 2: Rigour

Great lessons 2: Rigour

Another great post. In part rigour comes across as an attitude, but it does rest on a number of things:

  • Good subject knowledge: my SKE course will help here, but knowing my subject is about much more; it’s an ongoing challenge and something I must devote myself to on an ongoing basis.
  • A constant demand for precision; not giving into the temptation to give students a sense of achievement by accepting things that are ‘half-right’. My strengths here lie in how I can carefully congratulate a student for effort whilst making it clear there is more they need to do more to get it right. However, a challenge for me is not to be too soft.

As an aside, if I end up teaching a second subject, I will need to do quite a bit of work to get up to speed.

Leave a comment